History of the ILG-MHD

Dr. B. C. Lindley and his associates of the International Research and Development Company, Ltd (United Kingdom) organized the First International Conference on MHD Electrical Power Generation held in Newcastle upon Tyne in September 1962. This first international gathering had as its stated objective “to provide an International forum for the review of the results of MHD studies and to discuss the engineering aspects of MHD development”.

The 1962 conference was attended by MHD researchers from many countries and, at the initiative of Dr. Lindley, an informal gathering of 2 or 3 representatives from each participating country was con­vened. It was agreed that a group should be set-up to organize periodic confe­rences and to provide a 'working group' environment in which technical results could be peer reviewed and disseminated internationally. As a first step Dr. Lindley served as the Chairman of an International MHD Steering Committee with membership from Australia, the Federal Republic of Germany, France, the Netherlands, Poland, Sweden, the USSR, the United Kingdom and the United States. 

The Second International Conference on MHD Electrical Power Generation was held in Paris in July of 1964. This conference was sponsored by the European Nuclear Energy Agency (ENEA) through the efforts of Dr. H. Smets. The number of countries represented at the second conference increased and total attendance exceeded 400.

The Third International Conference was held in Salzburg, Austria in July 1966. This conference was co-sponsored by the ENEA in collaboration with the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) which undertook the lead. The Salzburg conference was well attended and the Steering Committee met in discussion of converting the informal committee into a formal organization that could be sponsored by IAEA and ENEA. As a result, the ENEA formally established the International Liaison Group on MHD Electrical Power Generation.

The first technical meeting under organization by the ILG-MHD was held in Paris in October 1966 as the Fourth International Conference on MHD Electric Power Generation (4th ICMHD). At this conference, the first official Liaison Group meeting was held with Dr. M.S. Winter (France) elected chairman. At this first meeting was established the guidelines and procedures for the ILG-MHD organization. A draft Status Report reviewing the highlights of the previous Salzburg Conference was also tabled for discussion and this report was approved by the ILG and published by IAEA in 1967. The preparation of the periodic Status Report has become a standard Liaison Group activity since that meeting.  

Since the Paris meeting, the ILG-MHD has organized a total of fourteen international conferences in collaboration with, and under co-sponsorship of, technical societies, industry, and institutions throughout the world wide technical community.  In addition to the ENEA and IAEA who were the organizing sponsors for the ILG-MHD, other organizations that have provided support to the ILG’s activities and conferences include: The Ministry of Education and Science of the Federal Republic of Germany, The Max-Plank-Institut Fur Plasmaphysik, the Energy Research and Development Administration (US-ERDA), the US Bureau of Standards / Department of Commerce, the Office of Naval Research (US-ONR), the Electric Power Research Institute (US-EPRI), the Symposium on Engineering Aspects of Magnetohydrodynamics (US-SEAM), the United Nations Education, Science, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), Moscow Institute of High Temperatures – Russian Academy of Sciences (IVTAN), Society of Electric Power Generation of Japan, the Japanese Industrial Technical Association, IEE of Japan, Japanese Society of Mechanical Engineers, the Agency of Industrial Science and Technology, the Japanese MHD Society, CONSORZIO MHD (Italy), the Shanghai Power Plant Equipment Research Institute (China-SPPERI), South-East University – PRC, the Institute of Electrical Engineering - Chinese Academy of Sciences, the Chinese Society of Electrical Engineers, CNR-Italy, LyTec LLC (US), and the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (US-AIAA).